Cadillac

Cadillac is one of those restaurants that I stumble to when I need some comfort after a long night on the town.  Walking into the airconditioned dining area, you are greeted with a bar that strangely looks familiar to several in Phnom Penh. Looking at the menu, you will notice a good ol’ Americana feel to it. Such items as chicken fried steaks, po boys and pecan pie are sure to make an American feel right at home.
For the review, I had the chicken fried steak. For those who aren’t familiar with the dish, it is a great example of Americana. First you take an inexpensive cut of meat, pound the crap out of it until tender, dredge it in some flour then pan fry it. To make sure nothing goes to waste, flour, milk, salt and pepper are added to the drippings to make an artery clogging gravy to be topped on the steak.
I first had the chicken fried steak at Cadillac over a year ago. I wasn’t impressed then as it wasn’t as tender as I would have liked but I am definitely impressed now.
The steak was pounded to perfection, tender enough for easy mastication but firm enough to retain its shape. The gravy was rich and there was plenty of it. The steak comes with two side dishes. I had it for breakfast so I added a fried egg and some chips. I didn’t bother touching the egg and only ate a quarter of the chips because of the huge portion of the steak. After a couple of french press coffees and the chicken fried steak breakfast, the headache wasn’t so bad and life was almost normal again.
Healthy? Hells no. Comforting? Hells yeah.  Just what I needed after a long night of drinking.
— Vinh
The breakfast menu had a few sets which were numbered like value meals so I went for the McMuffin equivalent.  The breakfast sandwich was fine, the fries forgettable and the coffee was french press which is not my favorite.  None of it bad but for the price, I think there are better breakfast sandwiches in PP.  Also, they were blaring the Beatles which was killing me for how early it was. I did, however, have a bit of Vinh’s steak and it was really tasty and would probably go for that next time I’m looking for a piece of meat that’s bigger than my head.  — Bryse
Hung over Vinh: 5 out of 5
Feeling not too bad Vinh: 4 out of 5
Tired and unable to take loud music Bryse: 2.5 out of 5
Cadillac Bar/Restaurant
Nº. 219E, Sisowath Quay
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

