Peking Restaurant

This is part of a set of reviews taken over a few days in which we gorged ourselves silly at the numerous Szechuan Chinese restaurants located near Central Market. The street is 136 and the best landmark I can give is they are just east of the KFC on Monivong. I have placed a map at the bottom of the review with the street highlighted in red.

I went to this restaurant years ago when it was known as Peking Canteen. I remember it being a great place for cheap eats and a favorite of some of old Cambodia Daily crew. I guess they dropped the Canteen and put added Restaurant to give it a bit more class. I don’t actually see the big difference as the interior of the place hasn’t changed since I was there last.

For the review, we ordered Noodles with Special Sauce ($1.50), Fried Pork Dumplings ($1.50), and Sweet and Sour Pork Spareribs ($4.00).

Sweet and sour spareribs at Peking Restaurant

Sweet and sour spareribs at Peking Restaurant

The Sweet and Sour Pork Spareribs were great with a not too sweet sauce that covered battered pieces of ribs. Also a plus was that the ribs weren’t too bony and had lots of meat to munch on.

Fried dumplings at Peking Restaurant

Fried dumplings at Peking Restaurant

The Fried Dumplings were served on a pretty non-descript red plastic dish and I hate to admit that the dish reflected the taste of it. A pretty typical affair with a bit more meat to spring onion mix being the only notable aspect.

Noodles with special sauce at Peking Restaurant

Noodles with special sauce at Peking Restaurant

Lastly, we had the Noodles in Special Sauce. I don’t know what was so special about the sauce as it was pretty horrible. It just looked like a bowl of wet noodles. I don’t know how they were able to do this but it managed to look wet but have the consistency of chalk when eaten. Definitely the worst dish I’ve sampled so far on the monster review.

Order this dish at your own risk.

2 Nyamies out of 5

Vinh

Fried dumplings at Peking Restaurant

Fried dumplings at Peking Restaurant

This review should be preceded by saying this was the fourth, yes 4th, place we tried that day and I was pretty much entering into a food coma.  The dumplings were fine.  Not the best of the day but not bad.

Sweet and sour spareribs at Peking Restaurant

Sweet and sour spareribs at Peking Restaurant

The spareribs were nice.  Great sauce, and a decent amount of meat for each bite.   The noodles with special sauce were not even worth mentioning.  While falling into a food coma, I wasn’t interested in exploring the more of the menu but if they do have peking duck, I would try this spot again for dumplings and duck.

2.5 Nyamies out of 5

Bryse

Szechuan Chinese Restaurants Map

Szechuan Chinese Restaurants Map

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Peking Restaurant

  1. Last year I went to a restaurant on that street that had the most amazing crispy fried salt-and-pepper pork ribs. I tried later to find it again, but I couldn’t remember which one it was. If you know the one I’m talking about (I know, not likely), I’d sure love to see a review and get the address…

    IMG_4560.jpg
    • Hi John,

      Most of the places have those style of ribs but I find that the salt and pepper ribs at Sam Doo on Kampuchea Krom just west of Central Market are the best ones in Phnom Penh.

      Thanks for reading our blog!

      Vinh

  2. Yi

    Hey Vinh!

    Did you find any restaurants with good Sichuan hot pots? the kind with the numbing chilli sauce…

    Thanks!
    Yi

Leave a Reply

