Nyam At Home: CP Fried Chicken

During our research for the Fast Food Burger extravaganza, Bryse and I searched high and low for fast hamburger places to try in Phnom Penh. In our research for a burger cart for the review (which failed miserably I must add) , I found out a take-away chicken stall that has been a great go to for cheap and delicious eats.

The CP cart of fried goodness

The CP cart of fried goodness

Enter the CP Fried Chicken cart. Contract farmed in Kompong Speu for the CP Company, the chicken is brought to Phnom Penh and made into deep fried goodness. I have never seen breasts there but since I am a huge fan of the wings and thighs, it hasn’t bothered me too much. And I have to admit, I am a bit addicted.

Only 2,500 Riel a piece, the chicken is very tasty but definitely geared towards the khmer palate as the breading is a bit sweet but if you can compensate for that, it makes for a fantastic meal.

Just out of the fryer

Just out of the fryer

Which brings me to the At Home part of this posting. When you get the chicken, it comes with some napkins and the typically sweet chili sauce that is ubiquitous to the region. The sauce ups the sweetness factor to 11 so I tend to throw it away the packet.

Upon getting home with my chicken, I usually open up my fridge and check it out to see if I can scrounge up any proper condiments with the chicken. This time, I went to my trusty Sriracha sauce and decided to whip up a variation of a  great glaze I found online.

5.000 riel of fried chicken ready to be sauced

5.000 riel of fried chicken ready to be sauced

The ingredients of the Sriracha lime/cilantro glaze are:

1/4 cup Sriracha
1 tbsp Palm Vinegar
2 tbsp Unsalted Butter
Juice of 1 Lime
1/4 cup chopped Cilantro
I purposely left out the honey in the recipe due to the already sweet breading and added half a diced onion for a bit of texture.

Prepping for the lime/sriracha glaze

Prepping for the lime/sriracha glaze

After pre-heating the oven to 250 C, I combined all the glaze ingredients and tossed the chicken in them.

Glazed and ready for the oven

Glazed and ready for the oven

20 minutes in the oven allowed the breading to crisp back up  and what came out was crispy chicken that was spicy, tangy and easy on the wallet!

Fried Chicken from the CP cart with a Sriracha lime/cilantro glaze

Fried Chicken from the CP cart with a Sriracha lime/cilantro glaze

You can find the CP carts around town but my main haunts are the ones on Sothearos. The first is in front of the VIP Mart around the corner from the White Building and the other is just south of the old National Assembly.

Vinh

Leave a comment

Filed under Cambodian, Street Food

Leave a Reply

